Your Addiction To Music & How It Affects Your Salaah

salah_main

 

Many of us grew up listening to music. It is the norm in society. If you didn’t listen to it, you were looked at as weird. Some people call it their life. Some people can’t live without it. It needs to be in their ear wherever they go. You can’t even avoid it in the shopping malls because each store you enter, there is music playing to keep us from being “bored” with just walking around. Music has become such a fundamental part of our lives, we feel we can’t exist without it. But, what happens when music itself is affecting your salaah? Your connection with Allah subhana wata’ala? You stand in front of your prayer mat, raising your hands to say Allah Hu Akbar (Allah is the greatest) then within a few seconds, your favourite song that you’ve had on repeat several times this past week keeps popping up. While you are reciting the fatiha, that song keeps popping up in your head. You seem frustrated, aggravated and just wanted to fulfill your obligation to Allah subhana wata’ala without any interruptions but it can’t be done with peace, happiness and calmness. Want to know why?

You are addicted! You can’t let it go! 

You want a connection with Allah subhana wata’ala. You want to be at peace while praying but you’ve allowed music to control your life. Your addiction doesn’t allow you to have the connection you need to feel at peace during and after praying.

I’ve had a music addiction, just like you. I took it every where I went. I wouldn’t let it go. I let it be a part of my life! I thought it was everything I was missing in my life. I wanted to be a rapper, that’s how much I loved music. But whenever I stood to pray salaah, to speak to Allah subhana wata’ala, I couldn’t do it properly because the songs that were on repeat, were overpowering the connection. I would finish salaah unsatisfied, moody and within a few minutes, I’d go back to listening to those songs.

Music addiction is real and it is something dangerous as Muslims. I know many people will tell you that music is not haraam and if the songs have meaning, then it is good for you but wallahi, it is not. Only the people of desires, people who refuse to follow the truth will say that. The Prophet Muhammad (peace & blessings be upon him) said: “Among my ummah (nation) there will certainly be people who permit zinaa, silk, alcohol and musical instruments. [Bukhari] He also said in another hadith, music grows hypocrisy in the heart[Bayhaqi]. Ask yourself, really and truly, has music been of any benefit to you Islamically? We all know, music benefits you in the dunya, in the world because it can help us relate to things but Islamically, has it elevated your Islam? Has it helped you pick up the Qur’an? Has it helped you remember Allah subhana wata’ala?. There is no “halal music” that does this either. Music is the calling of the shaytaan and shaytaan will do its best to keep you away from Allah subhana wata’ala. To prevent you from being a better Muslim.

If you truly want peace, happiness, and calmness in your salaah, let music go and see how much better you feel after you pray. It is not an overnight transformation but it can be done.  If you do things for the sake of Allah subhana wata’ala, He will replace music or whatever it be with something better. That something better, is peace, happiness and calmness that comes with salaah. No more standing on your prayer mat, in the congregation, having songs stuck in your head. Just the words of the Qur’an, a mercy from Allah subhana wata’ala allowing you to understand it, feel peace, happiness and calmness.

9 thoughts on “Your Addiction To Music & How It Affects Your Salaah

  1. Thank you for posting. I’m trying to decrease my addiction to music gradually. First by trying to change the quality or loudness of the music, and second by choosing when.
    I listen to music when I am working or studying and when I’m training (for motivation).
    Other than that, if I’m driving for example, I would prefer to listen to the Quran radio.
    Thanks for the post though.

      • Thank you brother. But I have a question, is it okay to listen to Quran while not focusing on the words? I get this conflict sometimes…

      • You are welcome. From what I’ve been told is that, you must listen to the Qur’an attentively. Allah does say in the Qur’an: So when the Qur’an is recited, then listen to it and pay attention that you may receive mercy. [Surah Al’A’raf]

  2. Subhanallah. It’s seems like just yesterday, I was borderline addicted to music. I would wake up to it and listen to it through out the day and even fall asleep to it. Subhanallah. I’m so honored Allah enabled me to cold-turkey it upon discovering, “Love of music and the love of the Quran cannot coexist in the same heart.” Haha I vividly remember my teenage self sitting in my bedroom and consciously deciding ‘I’M DONE’. So I deleted everything off all my devices and many years later, I haven’t relapsed once. و الحمد لله. My point is if you set your mind to it anything is possible and what really helps is finding a replacement, for me that was Quran recitation and it still is

Leave a Reply

