Is This A Scam?

I remember waking up, September 11th, 2013. I rolled over to the side of my bed, picked up my phone and checked my email as I usually do every morning. That morning, I will never forget. I had received an email from a radio station in South Africa, named, “Voice Of The Cape.” I was thinking to myself, this is a scam. This is probably one of those people who send people the same thing, hoping to scam them and sucker them out of thousands of dollars. Out of curiosity, I read the entire email carefully and to my surprise, they wanted to interview me about an article that went viral on social media. I was still in disbelief and in shock that someone wants to give me a radio interview because of something I wrote. I couldn’t fathom that. It flew over my head. I was going back and forth thinking to myself, this can’t be possible. Is my article that good? Did people really like it that much, that someone from half way across the world, in Cape Town, South Africa out of all the places in the world, wants to interview me? I eventually settled down, emailed them back and agreed to it. It made my day and it still makes me happy till this day, Alhumdulilah (thanks to Allah).

The point of writing this, is to let you know that your blessings come from the most unlikeliest places in the world. All you have to do is keep working hard, be genuine with what you do and never give up. Your opportunity will eventually come around. Greatness is destined based your determination and effort. You will fail a lot of times and you will succeed too but those who never give up, will claw and grind for what they believe in and will eventually reap the rewards of their hard work and dedication.

Watch the interview here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-sjQkhqt5QM

Screen Shot 2015-02-09 at 1.09.55 AM

3 thoughts on “Is This A Scam?

      • Inshallah. And I get it because I’ve actually had one of those moments before. My first big achievement blogwise may seem insignificant to others. But it meant the world to me. By the will of Allah, one of my blog posts was shared on Humanize Palestine in memory of a beautiful soul. So I know how you felt. #teamAlhamdulillah

Leave a Reply

