A Piece Of Me

tumblr_mop62qwtko1r4lwqvo1_500

I was always told quite a lot through out my younger years that I would amount to nothing. People closest to me, always compared me to others and what they have achieved academically, while I was struggling in school. I wasn’t struggling because I was dumb or slow but because I was lazy, as I didn’t care what went on in class. I didn’t have the highest self-esteem growing up nor did I have a positive influence in my life. The biggest influence in my life, to be honest with you all was WWF. I went through depression, I went to very low points in my life. I made extremely bad decisions following my whims and desires. I used to give up on things very easily and anytime something became challenging, I would give up.

But, there was always something inside of me, a fire, a desire to prove people wrong, that I wasn’t going to be as they said I am. I wasn’t going to be compared to people and that there is something about me through hours of writing I used to do. Pages and books filled with poetry and lyrics I used to write, that there was a gift there, a potential that wasn’t explored properly. I didn’t want to be like others. I didn’t care to be a doctor, a lawyer, a pharmacist. I didn’t care about numbers. I didn’t care about sitting behind a desk all day and make money the easy way. I had a problem with authority and I never liked it from the beginning because I always found myself to myself, creating things in my head and then writing them down or drawing things on a piece of paper.

I wasn’t going to let the people of this world decide who I should be and what I should do with my time. I wasn’t going to let heart breaks make me bitter towards other people I don’t know. i wasn’t going to let anything stop me from being who I am.

As I grew older, I began to take risk. I began to to get my feet wet and If I was going to drown, by all means, I would drown but I wasn’t going to let the negativity I grew up around prevent me from exploring the gifts I had. I knew, as soon as I got my feet wet and stopped caring what others thought of me, I would eventually find a piece of my purpose in this world, that it is to inspire people. It is to motivate people. I wasn’t created to fear people. I wasn’t created to worry what others had to say about me. I was created for my own purpose and I didn’t allow myself to see that because I listened to everyone. Because I thought they knew what was best for me, so I let them choose what was best. I thought I was going to end up a failure in life. I thought I wasn’t going to amount to nothing. And all of that just made me desire more in my life. It made me search inside of myself and find happiness that cannot be replaced.

I know, Allah SWT didn’t create you and I to be followers, except to be followers of the Prophet Muhammad (Peace & Blessings Be Upon Him). There is a beautiful message we can learn from the Prophet Muhammad (Peace & Blessings Be Upon Him), if you read his biography. He never gave up in life and no matter how people treated him, no matter how people were with him or against him, he never gave up on his purpose in this world, that was to spread the message of tawheed (oneness) in Islam and he lived to do just that, moving hearts and people in a direction closer to Allah SWT. His purpose has been fulfilled in this world and it continues to spread amongst billions of people and thousands are converting everyday. We can learn from this and it shows that, no matter what your purpose in life is, which should be firstly to worship Allah SWT, after that, go towards it. Don’t ever give up and no matter what people say to you, how they say it. They give you pain, they make you cry, don’t stop going towards your own purpose. Be a leader in this life and continuously follow your heart by having complete faith in Allah SWT. Don’t be a copy but be an original.

If you never take risk and you always worry what others will or might say, you may never be who you are supposed to become. I am who I am today because I stopped caring what the world had to say to me, in a negative way, to put me down and I looked at it as a push in a direction to find myself. I am who I am today because I took risks and challenged myself and when things became challenging, I never gave up. I am who I am today because I put Allah SWT first, have complete trust in Him with everything I do and follow through with it. I am…. insha’Allah, what Allah SWT created me to be. A person who is going to inspire, motivate and change people’s lives with the best of my ability.

Leave a Reply

