The Importance Of Following The Sunnah & Not Blind Following

7cbbc409ec990f19c78c75bd1e06f215

 

Many of us growing up, we do as we are told from the way we eat, to how we eat, to the activities in our lives. When it comes to Islam, we think what we are taught either by our parents or  our madressa (school) teachers, we think it is correct. There is no doubts in our minds that these things, what we are learning today, are correct and these people will not mislead us because well, they are people of knowledge. Come on, our parents teaching us the wrong things? That would never happen! Well, it does happen and happens quite often within homes because what they have been taught, they never questioned it, they never openly asked questions, they just kept quiet and just kept following it. They never asked, did the Messenger of Allah do this? How did he and his companions (may Allah be pleased with them all) do it? Is it true? Is it authentic? We never had the courage to ask that nor did it ever cross our minds because we automatically assumed it was correct. I’ll tell you how I was following which I thought was from Islam, which was not but in fact either innovations or would have led me to shirk because I blindly followed without having a mind of my own.

I was introduced to or taught as a child that wearing a taweez (amulet) would protect you. It was something from Islam and just as a child would believe everything the parents or teachers at madressa taught them, I would follow along. It was only then, a few years ago where my family was introduced to a pious man. You know how pious people look, right? Beard, kufi, thobe and would speak very gently. They told me, he would know whether people had ayn (evil eye) or sihr (magic) done on them. I was amazed. I was like wow, really? So, my family and I went because of how he would find out. He would sit you down in a dark room, attach a screw driver into a hole of a slipper, tell you to put your finger on it and then ask you your name and your mothers name. Next thing you know, the slipper starts spinning. My family and I were shocked, like really? Did that happen? He gave us all a taweez, all taped up and had told me to carry it every where as it would protect me. Ignorant right? I was extremely ignorant.

Months passed by and I some how stumbled across a lecture by Abu Muhammad who performs ruqya in the UK. That lecture was a real eye opener because if you don’t know as of yet, anyone who asks for your mothers name is a magician. Yeah, that’s right, my family was introduced to a magician who claimed to have a cure, when there was nothing wrong with us but alhumdulilah, none of us have been afflicted.

Taweez (amulets) are not what you think they are and they do not benefit you in any single way. People are so misguided these days that they believe there is a cure in everything but wont look to pray their salah or read Qur’an. Last year, I was in the UK visiting a family friend in Leicester. He was having a lot of migraines all day, so his aunt had ordered taweez so they could stop. After researching for months about taweez and how to destroy them and reality of it, I had asked his mom for them, since she had put them away. I had asked her, what are these for? What did the individual tell you to do with them? She said, a few of these pieces of paper in water, then drink them and the other, he has to burn and inhale them. I had informed her, if he had done that, his situation would have gone worse and he could have had magic done to him. He could have been possessed by a jinn. I gathered all of them and destroyed them in front of her, educating her family about the dangers of it.

Once again, taweez are not what you think. Anyone who does ruqya or even does a bit of research on them, you would get scared as to what these sick magicians in disguise of pious people do to you. They are not there to protect you, they will actually harm you. The only protection is from Allah and believing in taweez as a form of protection is shirk. They are not permissible in Islam. So don’t go wearing one or asking for one to cure your problems. You need to have tawakul in Allah, pray your salah, read the Qur’an and read the morning and evening adkhars (supplications) everyday.

Another thing I was introduced and just blindly followed along because my family participated in it, was khatums. If any of you don’t know what a khatum is, it is when a family member dies, people gather in your home for literally weeks and recite Surah Fatiha, Surah Ikhlas, Surah Yaseen and each individual will read 1 juz of the Qur’an and give the rewards to the dead. I didn’t know what I was doing, all I knew was that this is what my family members do and this is what is taught in the community as well, so it must be right, right?

Nope! That all changed one night when Dr Bilal Philips had come to Toronto. He was an imam for several months at one of the masjids. I had attended one of his lectures or I believe he was recording a video for his Islamic Online University class. After the class was over, he had asked us if we had questions, so I asked a bunch of them and one of them of revolved around the virtues of Surah Yaseen that they teach you about as a youngster. If you ever open a Surah Yaseen book, you’ll find all these virtues about it and you are like wow! That is amazing for such a surah!

He clearly told me, that every single hadith about Surah Yaseen and its virtues are all weak or fabricated. I wasn’t in disbelief to hear that because I had looked it up on Islamqa for months trying to comprehend whether it was true or not, I just needed a confirmation. Same thing with khatums, they are not apart of Islam but since everyone has done them for so many years, probably decades, no one took time to find out whether it was permissible or not so they just blindly followed everyone.

Once again, all the virtues of surah yaseen are either based on weak hadiths or fabricated. Also, khatums are not from Islam and was introduced by sufism. Qur’an is for the living and not the dead. We are upon the way of the Salaf and if they had not practiced it, we should not either as these things will not be accepted. The Prophet Muhammad (Peace & Blessings Be Upon Him) sad: “Every newly-invented thing is a bid’ah (innovation), every bid’ah is a going astray, and every going astray will be in the Fire.” [Reported by al-Nisaa’i]

Now, you would think that leaving these things that are not from Islam or based on weak or fabricated hadiths would be easy for me, right? That leaving how you were taught to pray salah since you were child and then praying it according to the Sunnah would be easy, right? You would think, the people who also practiced these things would listen with an open mind and also follow that way too. Everyone doing things according to the sunnah and not blindly following what has been taught since a young age. Wonderful world, isn’t it?

Nope! Only thing I have run into has been backlash. I either get called a salafi, which we all are. We are upon the way of the salaf or I either get called a wahabi. Some how, these ignorant people listened to others and thought, these two words are “bad.” When they are not. Muhammad Ibn Abdul Wahab (may Allah have mercy upon him) did not create his own sect. The term Wahabi was created by the British in the 1900’s. I get called hard headed, a lost cause, someone whom is misguided and so much more.

I’ve learned that no matter how much proof you gather against others to show them the right way, if they are inclined to follow their desires, their way, the way of their forefathers, nothing will change that unless they change that within themselves and by the will of Allah.

The straight path is covered in things that are beautified by shaytaan and by other misguided sects, whom practice things out of the norm, while making it look beautiful and amazing, trying to trap you in. As a Muslim, it is your obligation to be aware of these things that look beautiful to you, while they are nothing but misguidance. Following the straight path is not an easy one and not many individuals will follow you. Many will question you, as to why you’ve decided to leave what the majority are doing.

Allah SWT says in Surah Al’Anam: “If you follow the majority of people on the earth, they will lead you astray.”

I am not writing these things to confuse you, I am here telling you about what I went through and continue to go through, leaving the misguidance I was introduced to, to now following the way of the salaf, to the best of my ability. I am not perfect. I probably have sins more than you nor am I pious. I am just normal. I have many shortcomings you don’t see. There may be many things you are practicing that you think it is from Islam but it is not. You’ve questioned these things as well but many times you’ve got the same answer that it is but proof shows otherwise.

You have a mind, an intelligent mind, so use it to guide yourself to the best of your ability towards the straight path. It will not be easy and you will be questioned and you may not be accepted. People may call you names, people may abandon you and people will go against you but all that doesn’t matter if what they are doing or what you were doing is not pleasing to Allah.

Make duaa and ask Allah SWT to guide you to the straight, actually all of us.

9 thoughts on “The Importance Of Following The Sunnah & Not Blind Following

  1. As-Salam Alaikum,

    I can relate to this. I’ve also been taught things that were not of Islam by my parents. Sadly, we were unknowingly committing shirk. I’m so thankful, Alhamdulilah, that Allah has guided us to the straight path of Islam. May Allah guide us all to the correct way (Sunnah) of our Prophet Muhammad (SAW).

    • Walikhumsalam, Malikha.

      When you find out, it makes you think, what else am I following that is incorrect? Allah guides whom He wills. He opens our hearts and our minds to accept pure knowledge. Knowledge upon the Qur’an and Sunnah.

      Ameen

  2. I know someone very close to me who is using taweez and as ignorant as they are it’s not easy to inform them about the dangers of it.

    This ramadhaan I also found out the duas lead by an imaam after salaah is also bidah. Many of us who pray in congregation esp in the UK have been following this practice unknowingly; after ever salaah they don’t make their own duas rather wait for the imaan to start it.

    • It’s because many of the people in the UK who run masjids are usually South Asian and many of them follow Hanafi in fiqh, Maturdi/Ashari in aqeeda with mixtures of sufism, mix them all together and you get Deoband.

      Duaa in congregation is bidah but tell that to the followers in the masjid, they’ll look at you crazy. You’ll see people blow on their thumbs and wipe their eyes after salah. You’ll see people gathering on Sundays after zohr salah to read Surah Yaseen for someone who passed away or in the homes. They do it yearly. I’ve found that, it happens mainly with Indo/Pakistani people because of them follow Deoband.

  3. Great post! I didn’t know about this taweez thing, I always wondered where this practice came from, it just seemed strange to me that a “necklace” can protect you when the protection is provided by Allah (like you also mentioned). Taweez is very common among desi people, but nobody in my family has had one. When it comes to informing other people, I know some that are very stubborn to convince and very few stand up to their elders to correct, or rather enlighten them (since it’s considered to be rude and disrespectful to speak against them lol). It can prove difficult when friends, uncles and others you know go like oh this mufti, that imam, this alim, that fatwa, this buzurg and that hadith said this and so on and so forth – against your word! There are so many that say different things nowadays that it confuses young people (and myself) that in the end, it gave you more questions than an answer :p Also I have often wondered, there are some masjiids where they start “chanting” after jummah or after salah, I guess it’s like a nasheed\naat. It never appealed to me and I personally didnt feel like it belonged so I’d often just wait outside 😛 I did ask about this, but I didn’t get a good answer so I let it go. What do you make of this? I thought to myself that this might be something people just came up with, I dont believe this was a common practice during the time of Prophet Muhammad’s (PBUH) or after? 😮

    • Because the masjid you go to, is not upon the Qur’an & Sunnah, it is actually the people of ahlu bidah. People of innovation, which is why they chant after jummah salah and they probably do more. It is probably a masjid run by a sect called the Brawelis, they are similar to the Deobandis. Majority are either Pakistani or Indian. Then you have the Naqshibandi who are also people of innovation, they do weird dances and shaking their head and wobble like their sufi brothers. That’s why it’s important to find out where you are praying salah and who are the organizers of the masjid are. I know the people in my community or majority of where I live and surrounding areas are upon the way of the Deobandi and Tablighi Jamaat. As long as the person who is leading salah does not pray to graves and make duaa to them, you can pray behind them but if you are, then you can’t but how do you find out? Hard. From what I know, the brawelis are more open with their innovations then the deobandis.

      • Ah alright it wasn’t far from what I had in mind. Innovation leads one further away from sunnah. It’s not my masjiid though, but I’ve been to a few of them who have these practices and I found it so weird. Thanks bro!.

  4. Love this! So very true. People are all about carrying on traditions and for many south Asian cultures that means following the way of gypsies and believing in things other than God to protect them.

    • Thank you resilire84 🙂

      Many people carry traditions from their forefathers who had happened to be blindly following things that are not from the religion of Islam and then end up calling it things from Islam.

Leave a Reply

