What If Money Were No Object?

432731492_640

I remember when I was coming out of middle school and my 8th grade teacher made me write essays everyday after school for not completing my homework. I was a terrible child. All I did was bully kids and get into fights for no reason. School was the last thing on my mind because when I went home, all those calls home to my mom only entitled me to getting my butt whooped for not completing my assignments and getting into fights. Anything that had to do with school, I didn’t want to be apart of it but one thing that did capture my attention though was writing. After middle school and writing literally hundreds of essays, I loved writing.

You know those questions you get asked constantly either in elementary, middle school or high school, “what do you want to be?” Well in elementary I wanted to be Hulk Hogan. After getting into high school, my passion for writing was huge! I wanted to be a journalist but my life didn’t take that path. I was often told being a journalist, a writer, you wouldn’t make enough money. Or I was told, that is not a field for you because you aren’t fit for it.

Fast forward years later, I created a blog. On Facebook, Im constantly writing notes  or statuses that people enjoy and next thing you know, It has like 20 Likes from people I have never met or seen in my life, asides from the pictures they share. Or Im just giving my opinion, some advice on a page and it gets 77 Likes. My intention is never to write to become popular or to be recognized or praised. My intention and I say this, think this, write this without a second thought in mind is to help others. When I get emails or messages from people telling me that I have inspired them or I have motivated them, it really overwhelms me because I don’t expect these things, I really don’t. I write with my own beliefs in my mind, how I perceive and live my life. What I was taught by reading, experience, learning from others, what Islam says and I write it.

People say, “I hate my job! I hate waking up to this crap everyday of my life, listening to a boss or people who don’t appreciate me.” I guess this is what happens when you chase the money. When money becomes the reason why you do these jobs. No matter how brutal it is, no matter how boring it is, it is accepted because it is cash over sanity. I’ve played Alan Watts “What If Money Were No Object” several times this year and I thought to myself, what if money was no object, what would I really be doing?

I would be doing this. Writing! Inspiring others. Motivating others. I have been told several times that my nickname is “LC” as in “Life Coach” because I do tend to speak to people in an eager, motivating, no sugar coating way. I can easily charge a price for what I put out there but why do that when the reward for helping others and hearing or reading “you’ve motivated me” or “you’ve inspired me” or “you’ve helped me become a better person, I smile more” is much more rewarding than a piece of paper which I’d probably spend on food or video games. A piece of paper means nothing when the best rewards are from Allah SWT.

I used to think writing sucked or what I’d put my talent to, which was rapping was a curse. I remember a rapper said:

We make this chips off this gift

That we curse with

And then my mind drift

Am I defeating the purpose?

Now I realize, this is a blessing and Alhumdulilah (Praise be to Allah) for guiding me away from music and being able to use my talent to inspire, motivate and help others. If money were no object, I’d be a writer, a voice to help others overcome obstacles and self esteem issues. To be and know they are individuals that possess intelligence, gifts that can change the world and change themselves to live a life that Allah SWT did not burden any soul that it cannot bear.

What if money were no object? What would you be? What would you do? Write it in the comment section. Share it.

18 thoughts on “What If Money Were No Object?

  1. At least you wanted to be a real thing, The Little Mermaid sadly won’t cut it for me anymore. But I would also volunteer all day, in any place, paint, and read, and write reviews. Money isn’t really an object because of the profession I chose, so everyone says lol.

      • Lol they do especially if they aren’t real and mermaids don’t exist. Wham! Insha’Allah, you are able to do that. You seem like you are able to accomplish it, so you can do it!

      • lol You are welcome. Sometimes you have to be told several times in order to know, its not real, you know? hahahaha… What I do now, it’s not about the pay. It’s about the love for it, im passionate about it. Just as I am passionate about writing and helping others, it’s the same way. I never do anything for money, alhumdulilah.

      • Yeah I know, I can still dream though, and wake up disappointed!
        That’s good, money comes and goes. Anything in halal means always works, subhanAllah. Good post, if only we got paid for our thoughts

      • I’d rather be awake instead of dream because in my dreams, it can’t become reality, once you wake up, poof, it’s gone. When you are awake, you can work towards it and be satisfied you actually earned it.

        Exactly, anything which is earned in a halal way, it is always best and it is the only way to go. Your rizq is going to be there no matter what.

        You do get paid for your thoughts if you share them. That’s why I write.

      • True!

        I get paid by having someone read them, cherish them, and tell me their thoughts. I appreciate a person more that way if I know what’s in their head, and if I’m worthy enough to know.

      • Yeah. Expression is the best form of narrative, whether it is verbally or written. Hidden thoughts only eat you away, especially if they hurt. A person that is honest is more worthy of being a friend, rather a person who is a afraid to tell you even if they know you are wrong.

  2. Good piece! As my Dad would say all the things i want to be are off no financial worth in this day and age. Like I would love to be Spoken word artist (poet), writer/ /public speaker alongside being involved in social work. But, Alhamdulilah I’m nearly a qualified Lawyer lol. I guess once i’m done with the legal sector i can progress on my passion. Insha’Allah

Leave a Reply

