Being A Better You (Self Reflection)

self_reflection

I remember a couple of years ago, my life was a mess. I could honestly tell you, I was at a bottomless pit with no guidance what so ever. You could almost say, I lived a life with really no purpose or direction. I did what I wanted to do and I could careless what you thought of me but seeing yourself going in a direction with an empty feeling everyday, mind just clouded with all the things you either go through or put people through, just takes a toll on you. You eventually realize, there is a purpose to life and there is a purpose of you being here. Every one of us chooses a direction, a path we want to go in and those paths in life opens doors to either more hardships and trials or ease and patience with trials you go through.

I realized if you want to change your life, YOU must take control of your life. Your friends, your family, can only do so much for you and instil a great deal of confidence and positivity in you but if YOU don’t have that belief, you aren’t going no where except staying at the bottom, where you are trying so hard to get out of.

Life is going to be tough and your life is not going to change over night or over a period of weeks. You are still going to be dealing with the thoughts of you doing the same things you were doing before because of the comfort zone you were in, despite the way you feel on a day to day basis. There is going to be peer pressure. There is going to be all sorts of influence of you going back to the life you hate deep down inside and want to get away from but you feel like you can’t.

Don’t be that person that loses hope in becoming a better person, in looking for change because change is in you. It starts with being positive about yourself. It starts with removing all the barriers that are directly in front of you and continue to progress in life and making it more meaningful. You must ask yourself, is the position I am in today making me happy on a day to day basis or is my happiness temporary then I go back to this empty feeling? Ask yourself several questions about your character, about your day to day actions and then establish a mindset and do your best to stick to it.

A gourmet meal isn’t made in seconds. It takes time to prepare that meal, to marinate whatever you are making and then putting that effort into making it, trial and error to ensure it is a 5 star meal. You must have that mindset of always progressing in life. Your past may be however it is. Just as there may be a scar on your face or body from an accident or stitches, you can’t go back and remove that scar, just as you can’t go back and remove your past. You make peace, ask forgiveness, make amends with your past and move on. Just as there is darkness, there is always going to be light, no matter where you go. So don’t give up hope on yourself. Allah SWT will NEVER give up hope on you. Others may have given up on you but don’t give up on yourself. Life is beautiful but you must beautify yourself and it starts with making an agreement with yourself, that tomorrow is going to be better and make tomorrow better and the days and months and years after that.

Always, always remember, Allah SWT will never give us something which we can’t handle. The burden in our lives is something we can deal with, so deal with it accordingly and make your life better by being a better, positive, you. Don’t just say I will do my best, be the proof you will do your best. Make a continuous effort in your life to be the change. A car does not drive itself, a phone does not dial itself, unless you didn’t lock it and food does not magically appear in a plate for you to eat, to satisfy your hunger. You must make that effort by not only saying it but by being it. Insha’Allah (If Allah Wills). All praise and credit is due to Allah because without Him, my life would have never changed. I constantly make an effort to strive to be a better person everyday, I battle just as you battle but I’ve learned that I can control my battles better now because I’ve made better decisions to not live in my past, to not live fearing what others will perceive of me, to not put “what if” in everything I do. I trust Allah SWT and I do it. This is what it is called putting tawakul (trust) in Allah SWT. The Prophet Muhammad (Peace & Blessings Be Upon Him) said: “If only you relied on Allah a true reliance, He would provide sustenance for you just as He does for the birds: They fly out in the morning empty and return in the afternoon with full stomachs” [Tirmidhi]

Allah SWT says in the Quran: “Indeed Allah does not change the condition of a people until they change what is within themselves.” Surah Ar-Ra’d, [13:11]

7 thoughts on “Being A Better You (Self Reflection)

  1. Awesome perspective and taking ownership of one’s destiny. We love the photo of the image with the man in the mirror and want to use it in a sermon series. Power of the Word Church, Redford MI.

Leave a Reply

