Desires Over What Has Been Established

Asalamwalikum, it is time to for me to start my fast but I have a few things on my mind before I go and get something to eat. Over the past couple of days, I’ve been reading other peoples blogs on Islam and I can say, I was impressed with quite a lot of them and alhumdulilah (thanks to Allah) they have been blessed to tap into people. While the others I have read were not so good and this is not because I think I am a superior writer or better than others, nor am I trying to humble myself for others because the truth of the matter is, I am just an average writer sharing my experiences and questions I get from people.

The reason why I say the others I have read were not so good was because they’ve taken the Quran, verses from the Quran and Hadiths and taking them completely out of context. This itself is misleading to the person who is trying to learn about Islam and secondly I feel it is disrespectful to the scholars who have strived for years, their entire lives to put things into perspective for us and for some people or people to take the Quran & Hadith within their own interpretation and twist it to their own desires is dangerous.

There is nothing wrong with pondering over the Quran nor is there anything wrong with attempting to interpret it yourself because Allah says several times in the Quran for us to either ponder over the verses or asks us to think of these verses which have been revealed. In Surah Saad, Surah Muhammad, Surah Ar-Rahman, Surah Yusuf and many others. It becomes a problem when you attempt to teach others the verses based on your own understanding, while the scholars themselves have put it according to the Sunnah of the Messenger Of Allah and companions and many others, while you put it according to your own desires and according to your own benefit.

A lot of times when someone begins to tell us something, we directly assume what they are trying to say, instead of listening and asking them to clarify what they are saying. There are many verses in the Quran & things from the Hadith, which seem pretty straight forward but the scholars have went into depth and explained these things which could take up to an hour to explain and this is only a few verses. While people sit there and assume these verses mean this, while it means something completely different. Totally the opposite of what has already been established in the Sunnah and what has already been agreed upon by the scholars themselves and this is not just one or a handful of scholars but a majority.

There also people whom taken the lives of scholars themselves and the hardships they’ve went through and were unable to fulfill a sunnah based on their circumstances at the time and have convinced themselves, if such and such scholar was able to avoid a Sunnah, which seems a major part of Islam, then I am too. First of all, you aren’t a scholar, nor are the hardships or trials you’ve went through compared to what they’ve been through. Nor have you put in the time and effort they’ve put into Islam explaining hadiths, making the religion of Islam easier for us to comprehend. For example, people say if Sheikh Ul-Islam Ibn Taymiyah (may Allah have mercy upon him) didn’t get married and it seems to be a sunnah and half of my religion, then I don’t either. It has been explained by those who have studied the history of Ibn Taymiyah, he was imprisoned for years of his life and even when released, he was imprisoned again. Could he have gotten married in that time? Allah knows best because he is the best of planners. They also say the same about Imam An-Nawawi (may Allah have mercy upon him) who has great works in hadith and also responsible for putting together and categorizing Shahih Muslim which is one of the two most authentic books of hadith.

Your life may be miserable. You may have been in relationships where your heart has been torn apart and your trust meter is at an all time low but this does not give you an excuse to not fulfill half of your religion because people, scholars that are above you didn’t. Completely two different circumstances and different scenarios. Allah knows best about your trials but don’t put off a sunnah because you’ve been hurt or because you no longer trust people the way you used to. Put your trust in Allah and go from there.

The Quran & Hadith are very tough subjects and these scholars didn’t just pick up the Quran & Hadith in one night and come to conclusions as to why Allah said this and why The Prophet Muhammad (Peace & Blessings Be Upon Him) said this. It has taken them years and the studies in these things are not easy so for us, even including myself, to take a verse or a hadith and put into my own words without fully understanding what the scholars have agreed upon is ignorance and misguidance. The worse is to take the verses and hadiths and to twist them to your own desires because Islam won’t allow certain things which seems to be the norm. You have to understand, Islam is perfect, the religion of Islam has been perfected. Allah SWT says: This day I have perfected your religion for you, completed my favour upon you, and have chosen for you Islaam as your religion.  [Surah Al-Maa’ida Verse 3] Also through the Prophet Muhammad (Peace & Blessings Be Upon Him). So for us to come and add new things to the religion or fulfill our desires because our of wants and needs is wrong.

Abdullah Ibn Umar & Aisha (my Allah be pleased with them) & The Prophet Muhammad (Peace & Blessings be Upon Him) warned against the newly invented matters and also warned against things that were forbidden and then made halal.

The Prophet Muhammad (Peace & Blessings Be Upon Him) said: “I warn you of the newly invented-matters (in the religion), and every newly-invented matter is an innovation, and every innovation is misguidance, and every misguidance is in Hellfire.” [an-Nisaa’ee]

Abdullah Ibn Umar (may Allah be pleased with him) said: Every innovation is misguidance, even if the people regard it as good.“[ad- Daarimee]

Aisha (may Allah be pleased with her) said: “whoever invents an act of worship, will have it rejected.” [Shahih Muslim]

The Prophet Muhammad (Peace & Blessings Be Upon Him) said: “Among my ummah there will certainly be people who permit zinaa (fornication), silk, alcohol and musical instruments” [Shahih Al-Bukhari]

So be careful of what you are doing and how you are interpreting the hadiths and the verses of the Quran. You may be allowing something which has been established as haram and you may be making it halal. Whatever has already been established, has been established and there is nothing that can be said or you can go around it. Learn from those who are much more knowledgable than you in the religion of Islam or whatever it maybe. There are plenty of Qurans which come from commentary and I’m sure there are ones from the classical scholars such as Ibn Kathir (may Allah have mercy upon him) and plenty others. Learn the religion from those who are on the correct aqeeda (belief) and those who are away from shirk (partners with Allah) and bidah (innovation)

And Allah knows best.

8 thoughts on “Desires Over What Has Been Established

  1. Wa alaikum salam.

    As far as not getting married and using sheikh Ibn Taymiyah’s situation as an excuse, I assume on the part of the persons making the excuse that it’s more of a defense mechanism rather than attempting to put themselves on par with our sheikh. I don’t think that the persons making this excuse put as much thought into it as you have. Not saying the excuse is valid because obviously, it ain’t. Just that perhaps anyone using this particular rationalization assumed it was a noble one. And Allah knows best.

    • I didn’t write that they thought they were on par with the Ibn Taymiyah, I said they say because he didn’t get married I don’t need to other. That’s the excuse and reasoning they used and it is possibly because they’ve been through a lot.

  2. Islam is in all ways perfect, there is no doubt or argument there. The information is all there, the fard is all there to practice, and in reality Nothing within the Qur’an needs to change. However what I do believe is that there are people that need to change the way they *view and understand Islam, to strip away cultural barriers and customs and practice it the same way around the world. Many of us overlook what it really means to be a Muslim. If I am correct, somehow there was a link on my stats page that had said this page referenced a link to my blog. The work I had posted speaking of Hijab and Modesty was in no means a way for me to ‘change’ Islam at All, nor did I intend to promote any form of “bidda” or “disrespect scholars.” I simply related the message that I had read directly from the Qur’an itself, which people have a right to know and think for themselves, and I will state this, my intentions are never to change Islam nor is it to implement bidda of any sort, it is simply a way for me to reflect and post my thoughts on Islam, and Allah knows best. Anyhow, this post touched upon some good topics. But I also have a right to speak my mind without being blamed for “spreading wrong information.”

    • My post was not regarding you or your post but it was a general post in regards to people who take things out of context, just as the extremist in Islam do and those who are non-muslim take the verses and try to divert the people away from the true message of Al-Islam and make it seem it is extreme. If you feel I have written was about you, then I apologize if it came out that way and you were offended. I read quite a lot of blogs, just because I appeared on your page a few days ago and I addressed you, does not mean it is in relation to your blog. I never said you had committed bidah nor have I said you are being disrespectful to the scholars, again this post is a general post towards everyone, as I even address myself in this post cause I am not free of these errors.

      The cultural barriers do need to go but that things in Islam that have been implemented for years don’t need to go and as you agree as well. I am against all the cultural barriers that have put things into a different perspective for those wanting to to learn the religion but instead are turned away by what they hear and see. The reason why Islam is not practiced the same way around the world is because people are either disagreeing with Islam and believing it how they want to believe, instead of how it was revealed and taught for so many years or people are agreeing but to the extreme. Islam says to take the middle path. Be balanced and there is no balance. There are sects which popped up after and in between the first 300 years of Islam, which The Prophet Muhammad (Peace & Blessings Be Upon Him) said, they are the best 300 years of my Ummah. Abdullah Ibn Sabah started the sects of the Shia, as he accepted Islam verbally but not in his heart. Which led to a war and companions being killed, then worshipping Ali (may Allah be pleased with him) and cursing Abu Bakr, Umar & Aisha (may Allah be pleased with them all).

      I’ve read your blog a few times and I’ve told you it was good and I still think you are an excellent writer. Just because I’ve written something about in general does not mean it is about you. I’ve read many other blogs where people say the Prophet Muhammad (Peace & Blessings Be Upon Him) is from the light of Allah, which is incorrect, as he is a human and not from the light of anything. Then I’ve read blogs where they decide they don’t want to get married because scholars before them, who are relatively well known classical scholars of Islam didn’t. Then I’ve read blogs where people are constantly attacking the scholars of today, which is disrespectful.

      Again, If I have offended you, then I am sorry. Now, regarding the hijab verse, it does say in Surah An-Nur “A portion of their head covers” and if you go back to the way the scholars have explained this verse they say, it is in regards to covering the head, hair because a head cover does cover the hair. Again, there is a difference in opinion in regards to whether the whole face is to be covered or not, either or is correct. I have nothing against people who don’t wear the hijab and I don’t have extreme love or am I for those who wear the hijab, as you have written in your blog, it is about the actions. I know many people who have the religious look but don’t practice but only practice with their image. Do I look like a practicing muslim? No. Why? Because I don’t wear the thobe, a hat and have a big beard, so many people think Im just a regular dude. I do my best to practice to the best of my abilities. I just look at myself as a regular person and nothing more. I don’t even consider myself religious. I take time out of my day to learn about the religion in its essence from those who have taught it the way it is supposed to be learned. Not with the innovations that go on now in several masajids and within homes. I, myself, years ago, was blindly following just what was taught but little did i know what I was taught was based on weak hadiths and based on fabrications and innovations, which I no longer do.

      You are doing a great job with your blog and you should continue to write more and not be diverted or thrown off by critics because there will always be negative or positive critics and those people don’t make you, but you as a person, make yourself. Just do your best to learn from those who are more knowledgable about Islam in regards to what you are attempting to learn to get a clearer message in what is being said in the Quran & Hadith. It’ll save the confusion for yourself and you’ll have a better understand. I know some people don’t like it when people apologize a lot but again, I’d like to apologize if I have hurt your feelings or attacked you.

  3. Salam,

    Okay hamdoulilah I see what you are saying now. You’re right I guess I should not have assumed that this was related to my post from your recent comment. I guess I got kind of scared because I definitely would not want anybody to read my blog thinking I was spreading bidda, that is a scary thing to have on one’s hands and I seek refuge in Allah from that! Innovations in Islam are really the culprit of division, and you are right Islam simply is better practiced the way it was in the time of the prophet, no more or no less. I understand what you are saying and I’m not offended. It kind of was an eye opener so jazakhallah khair, keep up the good posts! Ramadan Mubarak

    • Walikumsalam. It’s alright, you don’t have to apologize, it is okay, don’t worry about it lol. Don’t be scared by what I post, as I said before, all this is a reminder for me because I am in need of my own reminders and reflecting on what I write every single time. Islam should be practiced to the best of your abilities, according to the Quran & Sunnah and what has been taught by those who have the right beliefs, aqeeda because if they don’t, you’ll fall into innovations and you’ll into putting partners with Allah, shirk. That’s why blind following is dangerous. There are plenty of people who have been teaching the religion from classic scholars, imams, leaders, sheikhs, and modern ones as well, which know the religion as well and call to the oneness of Allah. Like I said, If you need help, feel free to ask me. I will not judge you. I am here to help you with whatever you need, so don’t be afraid. I want you to remember this, do not think I am above you in religion or anything because I may discuss it in a way that may seem I know what I am talking about because in reality, I may know nothing at all and you may know more than me. So feel free to teach me things and I am open to teach you things. This is an ummah and we apart of a beautiful ummah.

      You are welcome and Im glad you are not offended. Im glad my post was beneficial to you. And I hope you keep up what you are doing as well, insha’Allah! 🙂 Ramadan Mubarak to you too.

Leave a Reply

