Why I Decided To Stop Listening To Music

musical_wallpaper_art_with_headphones_blooming_out_plant_like_shapes.1920x1200.0c2d3876

* Authors Note – There are several proofs why music is haram. A lot of people seem to take Ibn Hazm (may Allah have mercy upon him) proof on making it permissible but the scholars have said, it is haram. Even The Prophet Muhammad (peace & blessings be upon him) said, there will be a day where several things people will make them halal and one of them was music. One of the sites I like to use for finding answers for Islam is http://www.islamqa.com .. You can find and research the proofs yourself.

Assalamwalikum (Peace Be Upon You). As I sit here in this extremely hot day in Toronto, Ive been asked quite a lot of times, “why did you stop listening to music and how?” The explanation of someone who does something may sound simple but the struggle as we all know is the hardest part. A majority of us have made music a huge part of our lives. A lot of us wake up to our alarm clocks which are now their favourite songs. Many of us occupy ourselves in our drives or rides to work or wherever we are going with a CD or an iPod filled with music. Music has become such a huge part in our lives that many people cannot live without music.

A lot of times I’ve come across asking myself this question. “If I was to die in a state of doing something which is haram (forbidden) would I want to be raised that way, in front of Allah SWT?” This question would constantly pop up in my head as I would drive to work in the early morning hours or coming back from work. You know the usual, driving in your car, windows down, blasting your music. It was the way to drive, no matter where you are going. I guess we’ve been influenced so much that we think that this is by far the most “coolest” way to drive. If we had someone beside us and they were listening to something of a different genre, we would laugh in our heads. A lot of us are driving dancing, bobbing our head, knowing the lyrics to the songs but again, the question would pop up in my head “do I want to die in this state, reciting lyrics?

Eventually, the more I pondered over the songs I listened to, the more I’d begin to understand. Now, someone may say “music is not the problem, it is you, who has become weak and being influenced by music, Im still normal listening to it!” If you are a non-muslim, that question may fly but if you are a Muslim, that question doesn’t fly. How many times are standing in salah through out the day, whether in congregation or alone and you are doing your best to recite Surah Al-Fatiha which just rolls off the tongue because we’ve grown up reciting it and then the next Surah you are reciting or action attempting to do, there are those lyrics stuck in your head. Or you are standing in salah while the imam is reciting and those lyrics are stuck in your head. You are doing your best to concentrate in your salah and that song you’ve had on repeat is there. It is just becomes hard because the shaytaan is doing his best reminding of things to do through out the day and what you should have done and your missed opportunities and then there are also the lyrics which just dribble in your head.

The music did not just only affect my salah but it affected my speech. Everyone can relate to the speech in the music, as it is profanity or “OMG! HE SAID A BAD WORD!” which we have become accustomed to as it has become the norm now-a-days. It was just not only the profanity, the bad words but how we would speak to one another. Anyone who says, music has not influenced my life in a negative way is down right in denial. You can tell from the way they speak and the way they speak to others and the way they speak about others. If it is about a woman it’s usually the “B” word or hoe or slut or if it is about a male its usually that n-word this and that n-word that. Some people have no problem using these words calling out others but would a brother call his mother, sister or cousin the “B” word or hoe or slut? Obviously not but we easily refer to others who we have no connection with. Many people will say “I don’t mean it in that way” but even then, you are making excuses for your lack of manners. Allah SWT says about saying good and not saying things which are bad, ill, profanity,  in Surah Al-Ahzaab: “O, you who believe! Fear Allah and speak a word that is true and He will correct your deeds and forgive your sins. And whoever obeys Allah and His Messenger has indeed achieved a great success.” and Allah SWT also says says Surah Al-Mu’minun (The Believers): “And they who turn away from ill speech.” “Ill speech” is all we usually get 75% of the time in the music we listen to now-a-days, so if you say you are are not even affected by what you are listening to or how you speak to others then you are in denial.

Music not only affects your speech but how you act. I won’t say it makes people do anything but it definitely influences people to have different ambitions in life. Achieving things by haram means. In music, most rappers are rapping about the street life and how they make money selling drugs and having a similar lifestyle with cash, clothes and cars. So the youth either see this in the videos or what they hear and they go out and attempt to live in those means. This not only affects their eman (faith) but it also affects the community and if they get caught, it affects them getting a job which would provide for them in a halal way, that itself becomes a struggle.

After years of listening to music and years of struggling to keep away from music, its been years since I stopped listening to music, Alhumdulilah. First and foremost, I don’t want to die reciting lyrics or listening to music but I want to die in a state of eman (faith) as a believer, and die raised in the best manner. So when I am raised in front of my creator, Allah SWT, I will be raised in the best state possible. Secondly, It was affecting my salah. Constant reminders of the songs I’d listen to through the day or songs I’d have on repeat. After I gave up music, Alhumdulilah, I can concentrate better in salah, as there is not a single song stuck in my head. I just decided one day after pondering over these thoughts I’ve shared with you, Ill give it up for good. I had stacks of CDs, not bootleg but ones I purchased and decided to break them all and throw them out. The first thought that entered my mind was don’t break them, sell them and make money off of them but then I thought to myself, I’d only be giving up my haram and giving it to someone else to be involved in haram, so I’d get sins. This was obviously the whisper of shaytaan telling me make money but Alhumdulilah, I did not. Obviously, I am not perfect, I do commit errors and I do sin, just as we all do and I do my best to make my character to the best of my abilities and my best to live according to the Sunnah Of the Messenger Of Allah (Peace & Blessings Be Upon Him).

So this is was my struggle, my experience, my escape from music and how it affected me and how it no longer affects me in any type of way. I know many people struggle with music, just as I have struggled over the years and it is definitely hard to give it up but you have to ask yourself the same questions I asked myself. You have to listen to your speech and how you speak to others, how you act, what are your ambitions and what made you have those ambitions? You can be music free and you can be a better believer. If you are able to give up so many things in your life because you know it has affected you and it may be whatever your struggles were, why can you not do the same with music when you know its affecting your eman? It’s affecting your salah and your connection with Allah and the people around you and it being haram (foridden).

May Allah SWT make it easy for you.

13 thoughts on “Why I Decided To Stop Listening To Music

  1. This is an amazing post MashaAllah! Reminds me of how I stopped listening to music. May Allah make it easy for everyone who is struggling in their path towards Allah, Aameen!

  2. MashaAllah, that’s incredible. I stopped listening to music a couple of months ago which wasn’t difficult, however, what proved to be difficult was to stop singing (still struggle with it today). Because humming to myself, or singing one of the million songs I used to listen to unfortunately comes so easy to me. May Allah SWT help us all, ameen.

    • Masha’Allah, that’s really good! It is extremely tough, especially in the beginning. Sometimes, songs do pop up in your head and sometimes you can’t control yourself but we are human. Whatever we have been exposed to for several hours, sometimes days, it comes back to us and we just go with it, not knowing what we are actually until we are like WOAH WOAH WOAH! Im singing this song? lol

      Ameen

  3. I like this post but I must add I don’t think music par she is haram. Aspects of today’s music can be but I don’t think it’s a blanket black and white like some things (such has halal/haram food). This is a very interesting article which illustrates exactly how I feel we should be addressing questions which arise in today’s society: http://brotherdash.com/music-and-islam-wind-strings-and-fear-of-a-black-planet/
    Most scholars are quick to quote hadeeth and Quranic verses without realising that there could be a translational error. Afterall this is the exact trap the Christians fell into over the Bible, but we have the opportunity to go back to the original verses and make sure the understanding is correct.

    I was never a crazy fan of music but last year I had started to listen and what I was realising was that I would wake up each morning with lyrics in my head. Though in recent months i’d taken more of a preference to Awakening Records muslim artists as i preferred their meaningful lyrics. However last Ramadan I could recall waking up with Quranic verses in my head, not even verses I’d memorised but because I was reading an hour a day during Ramadan and really focusing, my mind had taken in more than I realised.
    I only made the decision last week to stop listening to music and start reading Quran daily, and when I feel like putting headphones into my ears and blocking out the busy world, I’ve downloaded the Quran app to listen to. So far so good – not half as hard as I thought it would be 🙂 and I woke up this morning with Quranic verses in my head! Yay!

    • Music is haram and no doubt, people can get things wrong but Im certain scholars know the religion of Al-Islam more than anyone else. The translation of the hadiths have been from several hundreds of years from companions and then the tabien. I trust those sources more than anything.

      Masha’Allah tabarakAllah, you’ve made the best decision for yourself and for your eman to replace music the with Quran. It’ll just make you a feel a whole lot better with everything in your life. Congrats on that!

      • But scholars don’t all agree on everything. We must be able to differentiate opinion and subjective interpretation over what is definitively Quranic.

        In science for example, once a theory is established, research branches out based on the assumption that the initial theory is correct. Few scientists feel the need to then work from first principles BUT there’s been many cases where some have and have ended up disproving something which is very established.
        This is what has happened with interpretations of Quran and Sunnah. Everything appears to be based on an initial correct interpretation. Even when this interpretation may have been correct, the meaning of words also alter over time. For example, taking the word “gay” which meant happy a few hundred Years ago in the English language has avvery different meaning today.
        Similarly we wouldn’t call nasheeds haraam but by definition they too are music.

        The direct word translation of the hadeeth in question is “idle tales” which in brackets appears to always be interpretated as music.Idle tales can have many meanings from myths to storytelling to gossiping. The article highlights the process we should all take when considering something to be Islamic or unislamic.

        The reason why I stopped listening to music was because it was effecting me in a negative sense. The same way computer games may effect some to the degree it’s getting in the way of prayer etc.

        You may still disagree over how you view music, but you can’t deny the article is pretty good 🙂

  4. “O, you who believe! Fear Allah and speak a word that is true and He will correct your deeds and forgive your sins. And whoever obeys Allah and His Messenger has indeed achieved a great success.”

    This is in Surah al-Ahzaab verse 70-71, not surah al-Hajj. Or do I missed on something?

Leave a Reply

